How to keep WinXP really fast & stable. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2005, 01:26 AM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

No, it's a space you reserve as virtual memory. It's like RAM but on your hard drive. Trust me you will want more than 8mb.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 11:18 PM   #32 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

bump
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 12:39 PM   #33 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

more tips.

right click you toolbar and select properties. uncheck hide inactive icons, then click start menu, hit customize. set the number of item in the start menu list to zero and clear the list.

hit advance, set the the control panel as a menu (you can now access things from the control panel on the all progams and start menu), Check my network places, on network connection pick link to connection folder, check printer and fax, display administrative tools on the all progams and start menu

uncheck list my recently opened documents and hit clear list.

now you disable a few window tracking methods and made some things easier to access and you can drag your favorite programs to your start menu list
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 10:15 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Wow u guys are (edit: were) really going at it.......

U really helped me, but i still got questions

Would my computer be slower in games if i increase my total ram+virtual past 2gb???? Would 3gb be good??

And when u have 2 harddrives, does it add the two together or is one used at a time when they are being accessed??
alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 10:18 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

I have a two very old hard drives....

Is there any way i can figure our the specs... shouldnt xp show me somewhere?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 04-05-2006, 10:20 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

dont it say on the hdd itself?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 10:45 AM   #37 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

yes this topic is DEFINETLY useful thanks for this EricB this should be Pinned
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 09:06 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NvidiaDude
this should be Pinned
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 12:07 PM   #39 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

this is useful. bookmarked, and i vote sticky.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.