How to install Windows 98SE w/o floppy and w/o cd-rom? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2005, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default How to install Windows 98SE w/o floppy and w/o cd-rom?

Hi,
I have a old computer that I want to install Windows 98SE. But, the problem is that I don't have any floppy (and can't go buy one) and also, that computer won't boot from cd-rom. So, what I thought is plug the hard drive in my big 2600+ computer. But, it says that I need more than 16MB of RAM (and, I got 512MB) So, I guess my computer is too powerful. So, is there anyway to install it? I got all files copied into the hard drive and right now, it's plugged as a secondary hard drive in my big computer. Is there any way I can install it from Windows XP? Or, is there anyway to install DOS on it so that it's boot from the hard drive. And, by the way, my big computer doesn't have a floppy...

Can anyone help me on this one?
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

always have a floppy installed on your PC. You can't install it from XP, I tried that once, you need a floppy, I don't know why you don't even have one.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Don't have one that work... I will buy one when I can go outside (I need to get it by bicycle (don't have a car :P))
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

computers now days dont need them...
anyhow i dont really think u can without a floppy.. i do think i have a few extra floppy drives though? idk id have to look but anyhow i dont think you can without a floppy...
or u can be crzy like me and try this?
set up the drive u want 98 on as a slave, copy all the files for 98 over to it and then set it back up in ur old computer and see what happens
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
computers now days dont need them...
anyhow i dont really think u can without a floppy.. i do think i have a few extra floppy drives though? idk id have to look but anyhow i dont think you can without a floppy...
or u can be crzy like me and try this?
set up the drive u want 98 on as a slave, copy all the files for 98 over to it and then set it back up in ur old computer and see what happens
I tryied... it won't boot... there is no MBR
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
Default

what can u do with such an old computer anyway?
whisker is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Nothing... just have fun to build computers...
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 21
Default

cool
whisker is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

true... i do it alot when iget the $$
well all i can think of is this
put 2000/xp/ME (haven't ever heard one good thing bout ME)
but if not get a floppy drive.. shouldn't be to much
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 07:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

No matter what year we live in, we always need a floppy.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.