How to hind some icons on start up? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2005, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default How to hind some icons on start up?

if i want the program to still run but don't want the mess off looking at that icon

example: windows blind icons

thanks in advanced

boo
__________________

__________________
·°―`·• bo0 •·΄―°·
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 439
Default

Do you mean the icon in the taskbar or on the desktop? You can just delete the icon on the desktop, that won't affect it's startup with windows, but I'm not sure you can hide an icon in the taskbar. Maybe with some registry hacks... but those have a tendency to make your system unstable.
__________________

__________________
\"I have many layer-eight problems in my life, including myself.\"
Obtruse_Man4 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 11:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

yeah the taskbar

i just want to hind a few not stop them from running
__________________
·°―`·• bo0 •·΄―°·
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 439
Default

I found this link after about 25min. of searching google. Really cool actually, never knew that option existed.
__________________
\"I have many layer-eight problems in my life, including myself.\"
Obtruse_Man4 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 01:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

thanks man glad you took the time to help me

this really makes it look better and cleaner
__________________
·°―`·• bo0 •·΄―°·
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 01:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

okay one more question while i'm at it

is there away to make the icons on the desktop smaller?
__________________
·°―`·• bo0 •·΄―°·
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 01:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

lol screen resolution
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 02:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

i'm using 1024x768 :P any bigger and you can't read anything lol

i just want the icons smaller
__________________
·°―`·• bo0 •·΄―°·
Signature
boo is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 02:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

could possibly help you...
http://www.xvsxp.com/os-icons/
If this doesn't, search it out in google
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
boo
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 325
Default

it cost $$

thanks tho i'll see if i can find anything
__________________

__________________
·°―`·• bo0 •·΄―°·
Signature
boo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.