How to hide programs running in the taskbar? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2007, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default How to hide programs running in the taskbar?

How do I hide programs running in the taskbar? Specifically the wireless internet connection or LAN icon thats saying your connected to the internet?
__________________

akasixcon is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: How to hide programs running in the taskbar?

Start Menu>Network Connections>[Network in question]>Right Click>Properties>[Uncheck] Show icon in notification area when connected.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: How to hide programs running in the taskbar?

Thats one part down. Now i have this icon from my ISP, Bellsouth, that shows the green bars that I'm connected to the network with the amount of speed. Any ideas on how to remove this icon? I think i might have to go deeper than just changing the settings since I clicked on the icon and there aren't any options to remove it. If you don't know what I'm talking about then I can provide a screenshot.
akasixcon is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: How to hide programs running in the taskbar?

please do so
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 02:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: How to hide programs running in the taskbar?


Shot at 2007-07-14
akasixcon is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 02:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: How to hide programs running in the taskbar?

Why even leave that program running?
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 03:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: How to hide programs running in the taskbar?

It needs to be running so I can be online.

I want it hidden so no one will know that there is internet in my computer.
akasixcon is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 03:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: How to hide programs running in the taskbar?

Quote:
Originally Posted by akasixcon View Post
It needs to be running so I can be online.

I want it hidden so no one will know that there is internet in my computer.
why would that matter? most people assume you do now a days and just open up the browser window to see whether it works or not
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 06:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: How to hide programs running in the taskbar?

Is there a launcher for that program in your start menu somewhere? Sometimes the icons in the sys-tool area don't show options, but opening up a config window from the start menu, (or install location on disk), will have an option that will take it away.

As for not wanting others to see your online... I agree with saltynay that most people would just open a web browser, (that is what I would do anyway).

If you just don't like seeing it in the system tray, you can always Manually force it to "hide" (while this just places it so that you have to click the arrow to see, it does get it out of sight.) to do this just adjust the configs in the taskbar panel. (right click on taskbar, properties, then in the customize by the "hide inactive icons" box, you can set it to "always hide"
__________________

ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP running slow -CPU @100% 70%of the time! ryanrs Microsoft Windows and Software 16 07-10-2007 07:36 AM
Log of computer that is running really slow dario03 HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 06-25-2007 02:50 PM
Installed Programs bigtom1990 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-19-2007 07:50 PM
Computer Running Very Slow!! Please help! johnc123 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-10-2007 11:01 PM
If Systray Icons Decide to Vanish On You! veg1992 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-29-2007 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.