How good will this computer be? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 02:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Okay the CPU I posted earlier about the AMD 64 3400+ (2.4) was false I found out it was actually a Socket 754 and not a 939 so I revised and I am going to buy the 3400+ (2.2) from PCCLUB for $239. Also Gibagyte motherboards are very reliable plus I already bought it so i'm not changing that. Depending on the price of the DDR400 PC3200 ram I may revise that also. Also does anyone know of any websites for forceware to overclock or get any additional boosting for my EVGA 5700LE?
__________________

AstonFanboy is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 02:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default

I have actually heard from many people that Gigabyte motherboards are prefered over ASUS.
__________________

AstonFanboy is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 02:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Once again the CPU from PCCLUB 3400+ is a s754 and I found out there is no such thing as a s939 3400+ so I guess I will have to save up the extra money and get a 3500+
AstonFanboy is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 03:11 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default

My new computer specs (revised)
================================================== ====================
CPU-$299
http://www.pcclub.com/product_detail...temno=A1906525

OS-Windows XP Pro (upgrading to LONGHORN when it comes out)

HD-$117
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-153&depa=1

MB-$129
http://www.pcclub.com/product_detail...temno=A4830937

Video-$437
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-196&depa=1

Memory-$131
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-440&depa=1
================================================== ====================
Stop ragging on the motherboard I have heard many good things about Gigabyte motherboards and am not changing my mind. I already hav e the mobo but it is going to take me a while to save up until I get a job this summer.
AstonFanboy is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 03:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Someone please look at the new specs and report back
AstonFanboy is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 10:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Default

Yeah, I read them backwards. I thought you were putting a Biostar board in. I've generally had good luck with Gigabyte boards with Intel processors. The very first time I bought I Gigabyte board to use with an AMD processor, it was kind of unstable. I switched back to ASUS immediately. Still, that could simply have been a defective board.
You have my blessing :<)
genistas is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 11:10 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AstonFanboy
Okay the CPU I posted earlier about the AMD 64 3400+ (2.4) was false I found out it was actually a Socket 754 and not a 939 so I revised and I am going to buy the 3400+ (2.2) from PCCLUB for $239. Also Gibagyte motherboards are very reliable plus I already bought it so i'm not changing that. Depending on the price of the DDR400 PC3200 ram I may revise that also. Also does anyone know of any websites for forceware to overclock or get any additional boosting for my EVGA 5700LE?
Damnit, their is a 2.2 GHZ SKT 939 3400+. These are an OEM processor.

I have one, i got that deal at tigerdirect a few months ago.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:16 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Whats the site for it because i would like to get the 3400+ s939
AstonFanboy is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 12:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

the processor wont be that good tho, i have the same one, and i will be moving to pentium 4 pretty soon
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.