how to getback mcshield.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2005, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default how to getback mcshield.exe

Can you help me???

I installed Mc Afee Virus Scan and during installation, accidently, I clicked on Cancel button, then I can not open any software. There always is a popup tab named Common Shell with I need ResXX\mcshield.dll. I tried to reinstall Mc Afee Virus Scan but failed. How should I do? Can you tell me how to get back the lost file. I do not want to reinstall Win XP cause lots of stuff I need in hardware which can not be saved.

Thank you guys. Waiting for your reply.
__________________

tronvo is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 08:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Reinstall Mcafee. Mcafee sucks btw.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I did try couples of times but it doesn't work. What's else can I do?
tronvo is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 10:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Here's a link on how to manually remove Mcafee Virus Scan

http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/displaydoc....CategoryId=243

This is quite technical, so be sure to follow it step by step.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You can buy a better product.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 06:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you so much for that. I am working on it.

I do want to get rid off this stuff but first, how to get it off.
tronvo is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 08:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Problem!!! I could not fix it. I deleted all required files as instructed in the manual but when I restarted Win XP, nothing changes. Still melfunction the softwares. What should I do? Pls do not tell me to reinstall Win XP
tronvo is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 12:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

if everything fails, my advice is to try a free antivirus, such as avast or AVG
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you very much for all your help. Problem has been fixed and solved. Can I close this topic.
__________________

tronvo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.