How to get scanner worken in Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2007, 12:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default How to get scanner worken in Vista

Sorry if this is the wrong forum for this question but here go's
I was given a HP all in one printer it's 4 or 5 yrs old its hooked up on a XP machine.
I'm sharing it with a vista machine using vista drivers my problem is it won't scan with the vista os
the printers recognized under printers and prints on the vista machine but it doesn't show up under scanners & cameras
Anyone know of a way to get it to scan with vista

Appreciate any feed back
Thanks
__________________

TKF is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 05:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: How to get scanner worken in Vista

Did you install the scanner's drivers?
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 07:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to get scanner worken in Vista

Insert the scanners CD. Do not auto run it. Go into computer and right click on the CD and choose properties. From there click on the compatability tab. Check the box for XP SP2 and Run as Administrator. Then setup the scanner.

Also have you looked at the HP site to see if they have Vista compatable drivers yet?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: How to get scanner worken in Vista

My HP scanner/printer/ copier, was automatically installed on Vista, weird the fact that vista know some HP drivers and don't know others.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: How to get scanner worken in Vista

Didn't get any cd with the unit,I install it on my host computer running XP home it automatically recognized it as a printer & scanner
I'm sharing it to my XP pro/Vista machine its recognized as a printer on both XP Pro & vista but not a scanner.
HP says windows Vista drivers is all I need.
If I hooked it up to the XP pro/Vista machine and booted in each OS whould be recognized like on the host ?
Or is there a better way just asking before I screw things up do you think that would work ? and how should I go about it.

Thanks for the replys and any help
TKF is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 08:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to get scanner worken in Vista

Then go to the HP site and search for the drivers. If you can find the Vista driver get the XP ones and do what i said above and install them in compatability mode.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 08:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: How to get scanner worken in Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Then go to the HP site and search for the drivers. If you can find the Vista driver get the XP ones and do what i said above and install them in compatability mode.
or through device manager
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 11:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: How to get scanner worken in Vista

I went to HP site downloaded and installed what they had for XP they were no updates for Vista,
Nothing changed ,so I connected the printer to my XP/Vista machine and booted to each OS the scanner showed up in both OS
Until I removed the printer, then scanner went away there's no IEEE or imaging devices left in the device manager. but can still print over the network when hooked back up to the host not sure what to try next.
TKF is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 11:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: How to get scanner worken in Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
or through device manager
this.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.