How to get rid of FootPrints in puter before selling - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2004, 05:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 46
Default

I am selling my HP soon and building my new comp, thanx for the support everyone!
__________________

__________________
Antec Black Sonata Mid-Tower 380 watt TruPower Supply
AMD AthlonXP 3000+ Barton
ABIT NF7-S v2
Western Digital SE 80GB 7200RPM /w 8MB Buffer
Kingston Dual Channel 512MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz (2x256MB)
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB AGP
Sony 52x IDE CDROM
Plextor 52x24x52 CDRW
SONY 1.44MB/3.5 inch FDD

Mozilla FireFox v0.8
Leprechaun is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 07:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
Format C: does not delete the information on the drive and does not write zeros to the data clusters. It can still be covered. I would use a utility like "BCwipe" and WIPE the drive. This will make all data on the drive unrecoverable by writing zeros to all data clusters and blocks.
Do the purchaser of your machine a favor; be sure to have all of the original OS / Recovery disks to go with it.
Or even better, after you wipe the drive, re-install the original configuration.
I'm guessing the purchase price includes the OS?
Will the system require re-registration?(XP)
__________________

__________________
\'DaGeek
\"Every OS sucks\"- Three Dead Trolls in a Baggie
Old computers never die...they get upgraded.
System Specs:
Depending which room I\'m in......
Home built POS...
P-3 500MHz .......
Athlon 1.1GHz.....
But they keep workin\'.....
ZeekeDaGeek is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 09:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default

Thanks for the tip, I will try to wipe it clean, and NO luckily it does not require re-registration. I am running windows ME on the system I am selling. My new one will have XP, which I love.

Thanks for the tip every and all are muchly appreciated
__________________

__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.