How to get into old files - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2005, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190
Question How to get into old files

I reinstalled windows over my old account which was password protected by accident and now i can't get into the files that where in my documents. It doesn't even give me a password prompt it just says access denied. Is there anyway to get into them?
__________________

Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Login as "Administrator".
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190
Default

you mean in the password screen?
Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you need to take ownership

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...5&pagenumber=1
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 192
Default

Well thats a lil idea that should work hopefully........use a friend's PC and connect ur hard drive as slave , u would be able to see all ur files and copy wat u want out of ( My documents )

hope that helps
weswes is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by weswes
Well thats a lil idea that should work hopefully........use a friend's PC and connect ur hard drive as slave , u would be able to see all ur files and copy wat u want out of ( My documents )

hope that helps
it wouldn't work unless you had knoppix or something like that
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190
Default

I am trying to use fedora core 3 but it wont install
Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190
Default

nvm i used my linux live cd, formated my other hard drive as fat 32 so linux and window could see it, then got into the files with linux and saved them to the fat 32 partition it worked marvilously.
Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

if you would have took ownership in safe mode it would have worked. I
have point at least 10 people to that link and it fixed their problem

you also could logon as adminstrator

and copy and pasted those files out to another folder
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190
Default

yea but even then there were some files that wouldn't extract out of a few zip folders i had in there. Linux took care of that. Windows is a lil buggy about extracting stuff for some reason.
__________________

Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.