How to fully back up network drives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2004, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Default How to fully back up network drives?

Let me give you the scenario. I have two computers ("Dell" and "Fusion") and one server ("Server"). The Dell and Fusion are running Windows XP Home, and the Server is running Windows XP Professional. What I am trying to do is schedule nightly backups on the Server of all three computers using the Windows Backup Utility. I have three different tasks set, one for each computer, to run at 3 AM, 4 AM, and 5 AM. The problem that I'm having is that the Server cannot access all files on the other two computers (like my Documents and Settings folders, Program Folders, etc.). How can I give access to the server for all of the files and folders on both computers? Here's what I've tried:

In the Scheduled Task's properties, there's a "Run As" field that was set to SERVER\Ryan. I tried to set it to DELL\Ryan, but I get the error: "An error occurred while attempting to set task account information. The specific error is: 0x80041310: Unable to establish existence of the account specified. Ensure the account name specified is valid." Does that mean I can't set a network username there? Being that it has SERVER there originally makes me think that I should be able to.

I also tried to map the network drives using the network username. A couple days ago I tried that and got an error (sorry, don't remember what it was), but I tried again today. It seemed like it accepted it, but when I went into the networked drive I didn't have access like I'm supposed to.

What else can I try? Just to make it clear, YES, I'm 100% sure that my computer and user names are correct. Can anyone show me what I'm doing wrong or suggest another way to get the backup done? Thanks!

trs2988 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

use c$ as a switch. Example, if you were to map to a network drive, you would use


that allows you the entire contents of the drive. I would actually recomend using a tape server.

If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26

I'm a little confused as to what you meant, but I tried.

First, I tried to just map the drive and put the $ on the end (\\DELL\C$). It wouldn't let me, so then I set the share name for the drive to C$. Then, I went back and tried to map it again using the $. This time, it brought up a window with the username field greyed out (but it still contained DELL\Guest), and a blank password. I tried to hit ok because I don't think there's a password for guest, but it kept popping up. Then, I clicked on "Connect using a different user name," and entered in DELL\Ryan. It popped up with that username and a blank password. When hit OK it came back up, but this time it had DELL\Guest in the field again. I even tried setting a password for Ryan on the Dell, but that wouldn't work either.

What am I doing wrong?
trs2988 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 98

first off, are all of your computers on a single domain or are you just using workgroups or jsut individual machines?? The $ is to connect to an administrative share of a root of a partition (c is shared on a domain as c$ for any domain admin). If you can't access the files normally, you won't be able to back them up. If all of your machines are acting as standalones (not in a domain or anything) it's easier to make local user accounts for the remote computer to use (this is actually easier than doing the "connect as"). If you can browse to it over the network you should be able to see it to back it up.
If I\'m curt with you, it\'s because time is a factor. I think fast. I talk fast. And, I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please with sugar on top, clean the fu**ing car- Winston Wolf, Pulp Fiction
wansingct is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26

I don't know, but I guess I'm just using workgroups. I'm new to networking, but I used Windows XP Network Setup Wizard, and specified different computer names but the same workgroup for all computers. Now... how would I set up a local account for remote use? I don't understand the difference between that and just using the account I have on there now to connect.

Sorry if these are stupid questions, but like I said, I'm new to this.
trs2988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.