how to format computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2005, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default how to format computer?

OIDanTheManIO sent me here
i need help
how do i format my computer?
__________________

firecry is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

...do u have an operating system (xp) cd
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Ok...if you only have on Operating System installed on your PC, then you want to use a boot disk to boot into command prompt at startup, or if you have a Windows XP Installation CD, boot into that and start the Windows XP Recovery Console. In both, you'l get a command line interface where you simply type 'FORMAT C:' where C: would be the letter of your Hard Drive.

If you have Windows XP and wish to install if fresh, you can simply boot into the Windows XP Installation CD and select to install Windows XP. You can then select which partition to delete or modify, and Windows XP will automatically format before re-installating.

If you are trying to rid of problems in Windows XP, then you could also do a Windows XP Repair. Simply boot into the Windows XP Installation CD, select Repair and it will only re-instal system files...but not touch personally created data files. However, this method can fail to fix issues in some situations.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

yea im using xp professional and its a dell
firecry is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

If you have Windows XP and wish to install if fresh, you can simply boot into the Windows XP Installation CD and select to install Windows XP. You can then select which partition to delete or modify, and Windows XP will automatically format before re-installating

how?
firecry is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

ok if ur gona do a clean setup startup with cd go to bios run from cd delete teh old partition create a new one install xp../
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default Re: Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by Alvin.C
Hello,

If you have Windows XP and wish to install if fresh, you can simply boot into the Windows XP Installation CD and select to install Windows XP. You can then select which partition to delete or modify, and Windows XP will automatically format before re-installating.

If you are trying to rid of problems in Windows XP, then you could also do a Windows XP Repair. Simply boot into the Windows XP Installation CD, select Repair and it will only re-instal system files...but not touch personally created data files. However, this method can fail to fix issues in some situations.
I have a copy CD win XP Pro, is it ok to format my HD?

Thanks
kopenhagen is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 12:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 86
Default

if you donn't wanna format default hd,maybe just a pq maginc is great help.
__________________

jlyouyou is offline  
Closed Thread

« OS prob | VBScript »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.