How to enable Windows remote desktop using "Guest" account? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2005, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default How to enable Windows remote desktop using "Guest" account?

When trying to login through Windows remote desktop using "Guest" account it only allows to log out of the "Guest" account and use an account with regular or admin permissions. (Like Administrator)

I assume this default behavior can be changed in "gpedit.msc" but I cannot find the option.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 11:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

Open gpedit.msc by typing it in the run command dialog, then do this:

User Configuration,
Administrative Templates,
Windows Components,
Terminal Services,
Remote Control Settings,

It should be in a drop down box labeled options, select Full Control without users permission. I'm pretty sure you must be signed on the account that you want to change. I left some screenshots hope this helps...
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 01:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

On a "guest" account you would have to "runas"...
Guest accounts shouldn't hold the permissions to access gpedit.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 01:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, I cannot use gpedit in the Guest account. I guess I have to make a shortcut to gpedit.msc with "runas"?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 10:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I changed it, but still getting the message "local policy does not allow to use this machine" or something similar.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.