how to duel boot xp pro and vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2006, 06:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default how to duel boot xp pro and vista

hi guys can someone tell if its possible to duel boot xp pro and vista
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 06:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Yes i have sucessfully Dual Booted my XP Pro and Vista. Many different builds of Vista too. Builds 5112, 5219, 5231, 5259, and build 5270. Only build 5270 gave me some problems after the install. I lost my XP boot.ini but i figured out a way to get them both back.

So the answer to your question is yes.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 06:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

thanks for your quick reply, did you have to install vista on the primary partion for it too work corectly
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I have XP as my Primary partition. I always used Vista as my second OS. Since it is in Beta and not capable of running my games i have to dual boot. You might run into some problems depending on which build of Vista you are installing. Let me know which build and i will have a better idea of what you are up against.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

im installing 5270,well at least i hope so im having real problems partitioning my hard drive,im using norton partition magic to format it but everytime i restart it hasnt created it,im currently using windows xp 64 bit edition too so i dont know if that will cause probs with vista
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well the only major problem you will have with that setup is that Partition Magic is only active within Windows. When you boot from the DVD it is before the Partition Magic has initiated and that is why you dont see it when you try to install Vista.

The only thing i can say is to get Norton Ghost or Acronis True Image and make an image of your XP. Then using the XP disc or Vista disc make partitions. Then go in and put you XP image back on. Then install Vista.

I know this sounds like a lot of work. It is. I am sorry to say but unless someone can give you a better way you are going to have to do this in order to try out Vista. Either that or use a boot disk from Partition Magic so it can recognize the drivers and maybe you can install that way.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.