How to downgrade from windows xp pro to win2k pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2004, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Arrow How to downgrade from windows xp pro to win2k pro

hi all

i have windows xp pro w/ service pack 2 installed and im having a bunch of problems with my games right now and i wanted to change back to my windows 2k pro any ideas how to do that,i dont have a bunch of floppys to make a win2k startup disk though.

how do i formatt my windows xp right now install a fresh copy of windows 2k
__________________

NitRoX is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 07:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

create a boot disk, run dos, run fdisk, format the entire partition (THIS WILL DESTROY ALL INFO YOU HAVE NOW) then pop in the 2000 disk and youre off.

But what are the issues you have in gaming?? Ive run XP for years now and Ive bever once encountered an easily solved problem.
__________________

__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Default

well its my cs, it crashes everytime i try to spawn , i tried reisntalling my video card drivers and it still happens so i just want to go back to win2k, i know it sounds stupid just to do all that for cs but i when i play sum cs it ****s me over like that and it gets annoying lol
my comps 3ghz p4 w/ 512 pc3200 ram
cable conneciton

This error occurs any time in the game, for example , while im playing... when i spawn .. when its precaching resources
NitRoX is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 01:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

Did you try re-installing cs?
chog is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 07:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Default

yeah i tried that it still gives me the same error, but its steam now not CS
NitRoX is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 12:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

NitRoX you would either use the winXP or win2k CD to format with NTFS. save all data because the setup requires deleting a partition. just pop your winXP or win2k CD in and boot from it. delete only your operating system partition. if you have other partitions leave them alone else you will lose all data on them.

you can either re-create a new partition to replace the one you deleted or just select "install windows" and they will ask to create a new partition. it will ask for 4 format options. do not use any "quick format" options. i suggest using NTFS over FAT32. here's more info:

http://www.evozero.gamma.timdorr.com...asic_disks.htm
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.