How do you enable the front audio ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2005, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default How do you enable the front audio ???

Ive connected the necessary wires from the case to be able to listen to music through the front audio, is there some settings that i need to change so this will work ?
__________________

__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 04:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

If you are sure that all the hardware is installed correctly and
working (device manager)-and all the cables from cd/dvd drives
are connected properly and you have installed the drivers and
audio applications and you are plugged into amplified speakers then.............

Run the audio diagnostics utility or the creative speaker utility.
This will allow you to setup and test your speakers.

You didnt say anything about where you were having problems,
listening to audio from the cd/dvd drive or an mp3 file on your
hard drive etc.
__________________

ImUseless is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

did you connect the other end of the wires to your motherboard? if your motherboard has no input for a second set of audio/ mic output than you can't use it. please list your motherboard make/ model
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

my motherboard is a abit AV8 3rd EYE and the connection im trying to make is not from the cd player, its the connection from the case inputs mic/headphones, to the motherboard.
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

I see my sound card has some connections on the side of it, would i have to connect the case audio and mic connects to that instead of connecting them to the motherboard ???
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 04:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

try going into ur bios and making sure that ur onboard audio is turned on, (if u have it) or that ur BIOS is configured correctly
__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

I figured it out, got info on the audigy website.thanks
__________________

__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.