how do you backup... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2005, 09:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
hdansjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default how do you backup...

do you backup your computer using an external hard drive or do you use a software program...if so which one? I want to start backing up my computer since I realized what all i would lose if something happened to my computer. My computer does not have a backup option under start>all programs>accessories>system tools, so i need to figure out another way to backup my computer. I'm interested to see what the majority of you do.
__________________

hdansjr is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 09:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I have 2 hard drives, and I just manually copy and paste everything from one to the other every week or so to backup.

All the important stuff is on rewritable CD's or DVD's.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

I periodically burn a couple DVD's with all my songs, videos, installers, programs, pictures etc.
dnoch is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 10:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I use the windows backup tool. I'll assume your using XP Home so you can't do that just move all your folders and files to another harddrive or disc.

Have fun though I just completed backup up data to an external hardrive using usb1.0 twice....
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
void's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 198
Default

I created a .bat to copy all my stuff to a backup directory. Then set up a task using my CD burning software, and put it on my desktop. All I do is run the .bat, then the backup task which burns my backup directory to a CD. Takes about 10, which is the CD burning mainly.
void is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

You can fit your data on a CD.... Impressive
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 08:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I use an external hdd and I use NT Backup
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 10:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I don't have really any way of backing all my important stuff up. I usually just backup the setup files to my programs to cds and thats all I can do. I have about 5gb of music and 20gb of video that will be lost if my computer breaks.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I also have an external 300GB HD which I backup all my important stuff on (Documents, photos, music, movies, software installers). I would reccomend doing this and avoid using the drive as much as possible (this way you are sure the data integrity stays strong, since it is a backup). As a further step I always backup the backup onto DVD's every 6 months or so.
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.