How do think FIREFOX? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 05:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 80
Default

speed hacks ??
__________________

ck84 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 07:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

ive got the lastest firefox and havent noticed it slow down any.

And what he means by speed hacks is the fasterfox extension that can be had from there site
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

you can also do the about:config thing

and enable the pipelineing, etc...

somebody posted instructions for that somewhere...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:18 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default

As a technician for a school district, I have noticed a large decrease in the amount of crap I have to clean off the machines since we switched over to Firefox. I'm not sure on the memory hog though. I haven't noticed anything, but im not particularly lacking on memory on my machines.

I do have some gripes about firefox though. Since 1.5.1 I have not been able to view PDF's in my browser window. I never had a problem with firefox 1.0 and later (to 1.5.1) Has anyone else been having that problem?
__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Only other problem I've had is some of the pages on MSNBC don't load correctly. The images are in the middle of the text and such.

By memory hog, I mean in task manager. By the end of the day I'm over 400k!
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 11:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 341
Default

ohhhh ok. hmmm....I could see that, but any other program will take up memory. IE, MS word, ****, even OOo (but that's java)

Ya, I have had some of those problems with pics not lining up. Sites "optimized" for IE. pfffftttttt - that's what I think. As a web developer it should be your duty to make the data accessible to EVERYONE. no matter what browser they are using. Thus for W3C standards and browser compliance. Sorry, ill get off my soap box.
__________________
The greatest measure of a nation is not it\'s army or economy, but by how many people are trying to get in, and how many people are staying!!
Guns, Guts, and Alcohol made America free.
Born American, Die American
Ubuntu - it\'s all about the bun\'s baby!!!
hillbillybob is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 03:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hillbillybob
I do have some gripes about firefox though. Since 1.5.1 I have not been able to view PDF's in my browser window. I never had a problem with firefox 1.0 and later (to 1.5.1) Has anyone else been having that problem?
Yes, previous version of Firefox wouldn't load the PDF extension correctly which resulted in Firefox hanging there. Seen it happen on 1.5.2 and earlier version. I don't know if they fix it in 1.5.3 but some of the security notification indicated the new update fix some stability issues but wasn't specific on it.

Consider installing more memory, I have no problem with any application on a machine with 1 gig of RAM. Beside, memory is cheap, you can get 512MB for less than $50. Don't run FireFox with alot of extension than, don't use a fancy GUI. Keep the application simple and it will run fine. Seen the best of it on a machine with only 256MB of RAM if you just keep it simple.
Law is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to kkttt87 Send a message via Yahoo to kkttt87
Default *nod*

Quote:
Has anyone noticed that the latest release seems to hog more memory.
I have. After suspecting IE as the cause for my latest reformat, I switched completely over to FF (except in the few cases where I had to do things like pay bills online and the app. wouldn't accept FF). After about a month, I couldn't stand it anymore and switched back to IE, throwing security to the wind. Tabbed browsing, my foot. If I've got four or five tabs open in FF and go to maximize it in the morning, it sometimes takes five minutes to get up and running. On occasions, its even frozen up and I had to kill it completely, losing whatever work I'd been doing in the open tabs. I can have the same amount of IE windows sitting open, using WAY less memory and I can pull whichever one I need to look at up in a flash. Firefox is now definitely a memory hog. I have not added anything on to it. Just the regular ol' download and install from the site.

Oh, and has anyone else had trouble navigating the menus? I'm going into my bookmarks to pull up a site and if I jump through the folders at anything faster than turtle-speed, they disappear on me like they have no delay-time for when you're moving into the next directory. THAT gets annoying. Is there a way to fix this?
kkttt87 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 09:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

i don't think that FF is a memory hog, because i never had any problems or slow downs when i open 4 or 5 FF windows with 6-7 tabs in each.

i have 1GB of ram and i don't have any extension installed
maroon1 is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 03:15 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks to all of you!
__________________

nampot2468 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.