how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2008, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

Hi, I have one computer that came with Windows Xp and now has Vista installed, but I want to transfer the Vista license to my new computer. If I reformat the old computer to reinstall Xp,will that null the Vista license allowing me to install on my new computer? or doI have to officially transfer thelicense somehow?
__________________

Rich_S is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

You can only use the vista license if you have the operating disk and serial for it.

You do not transfer it, the old harddrive will be formated and XP installed and the new computer will need to be formated with the Vista disk.

if you do not have the operating system Disk with serial your out of luck.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

I don't believe you can even legally transfer Vista to another computer, can you?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I don't believe you can even legally transfer Vista to another computer, can you?
yep
you might have to say that the other one broke
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

That is right Carnage and Eric. There is no way to transfer the license. You would have to say that the machine broke down and is no longer in service.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 07:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

Now im confused. I have the disk for Vista, I bought it, Installed it on the computer it's on now, but now I want it on a different computer, one that I made and has no os yet.
So can I just reformat the old computer, Intstal Vista onto my new computer, and will Vista just know automatically that It's no longer on the old computer and on this new one instead?
Rich_S is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

Well, you could, but you'd have to call M$ to get vista reactivated on the new machine (vista has only 1 activation per license for OEM, I believe). Like Mak said, you'd had to say the old machine broke down for t hem to activate it for you.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

Again Carnage is right. With a OEM disc you only get i activation. When you buy Windows yo agree to their terms of service and their License agreement which says you will only install it on 1 machine.

Since you already installed it on the machine that has no OS right now and activated it you already used up your purchased License. That is not to say that you can not install it on another machine but that breaks the license agreement and considered illegal. Which we can not discuss in the forums.

But you could install it and tell M$ when you call them that the hard drive crashed. I am just saying you could do that. Not that i would.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

What does it mean that it's an OEM disk? I bought it at WorstBuy. I didnt install it yet on the new one, because it's still on the crappy old computer, but that's the plan...Im not trying to do something illegal. I understand that it can only be installed on one machine, but surely that doesnt mean one machine ever. I can't believe that If i spend $500(ultimate edition) that I cant just remove it from one computer and put it on another, that's all I wanna do.
Rich_S is offline  
Old 04-14-2008, 09:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: how do I transfer Vista and revert to xp

Technically according to the EULA that is exactly what it means. But since you got it at a retail store you got a retail edition so you have 3 activations. Since it is off the old machine and not active on there anymore there will be no issues installing it on the new machine.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reluctant Vista install RicoDirenzo Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-17-2008 10:13 PM
Windows Vista Home Premium questions LightingBird Microsoft Windows and Software 4 12-10-2007 04:16 PM
Upgrade to Windows Vista Ultimate? akasixcon Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-06-2007 07:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.