How do I repair and windows install? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Question How do I repair and windows install?

Something is messed up on my PC. And I need to repair my install of windows xp. I put the CD in and got to the Repair Console. But I have no idea where to go from there. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

just start the install like regular. when it asks you where you wnat to install the os it will say that another install exists and asks if you would like to repair it. much easier than the console. i belive you can type help at the console and it will give you a list of commands but go the other way.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default

It says it will overwrite my previous install. And says "My Documents folder may be deleted". I have stuff in that folder I need. What can I do?
__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

back up all of your data before doing a repair. I have never lost data in a repair but it CAN happen. If the computer is not working put the drive as a slave on another computer and back data up that way. Just follow the steps in the article warez gave you for the repair.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default

kk thanks. good looking out guys!
__________________

__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.