how do i reformat? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2006, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default how do i reformat?

can someone please tell me?

Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 03:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
NayNay1991x's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x

It's pretty easy. In fact Microsoft has done a nice job of taking all the pain out of wiping the hard drive and reinstalling XP. Pop your Windows XP disk in the CD ROM drive and wait for the installation menu to come up.

Choose "Install Windows XP" then it will go into a new screen that lists a bunch of steps. From the from the pulldown menu choose "New Installation (Advanced)" and let the software do the rest.

It will wipe out all the data on your hard drive and put a fresh copy of Windows XP on the system.

There is some evidence however that the XP installer program does not wipe the drive completely.

If you really want to make sure the drive is scrubbed, then see our new Reformat and Reinstall with Windows XP

NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 04:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

I change the sizes of the partitions, as that will most likley corrupt the data anyway.

How was it hard before?


Format C:\


twiddle thumbs.



twiddle thumbs while it installs 98 or what ever.

(I just said that in case you were not on XP.)

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 07:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

I deleted your other thread for you. In the future, don't double post.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578

to completly wipe the HDD, low level format using powermax from a floppy or Hiren's Boot CD. Then let windows format it into NTFS and install windows
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

Originally posted by Biggie578
to completly wipe the HDD, low level format using powermax from a floppy or Hiren's Boot CD. Then let windows format it into NTFS and install windows
this is the best quick way above.

step by step below (without powermax)

The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.