How do I install a "RAR" file? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 10:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Question How do I install a "RAR" file?

Hi ya'll,

Warez was so kind to help me yesterday, but I've got another thing I'm not sure how to do. How do I install Nero if its a "RAR" file? I know its compressed but Windows wont recognize it to unzip it.....and I dont know what program to use to do so.

Thanks,
Deb
__________________

justdeb is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

First you need to download WinRar. Direct Download from WinRar site

From there install WinRar. After it installs you might have to restart. After that is all said and done go to the .rar and right click. You will see the option Extract here...Use that.

.rar files are not for install. There are compressed "zipped" files that make transfering them easier.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

thank you Mak......


How do I get a program to a disc using Nero? Is it just click and drag or must I do something else?
justdeb is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

if its an EXE file, then just click-and-drag, but you cant copy a program files folder.

*edit* make sure you are clicking on "make data disc"
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

tall..

its an iso file so I'm guessing its also compressed? I sent ya a PM
justdeb is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

for an ISO file, you need a program called MagicISO.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Magic ISO, Alcohol120 or UltraISO will accomplish your ISO problems. Did winrar extract a ISO? If so then you can use Daemon tools to mount it and install it that way until you can burn the ISO to disc.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default

Mak,

I sent ya a PM.
justdeb is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Taken care of Via PM.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Talking

Thank you

Tons of hugs,
Deb
__________________

justdeb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.