how do I get things working again? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to Antimullet
Unhappy can't install anything...

I have a hard drive that just plain stopped working, and was causing windows to not function hardly at all. just because it was connected and not able to do anything, windows would take forever and a half to do anything - including pop up the start menu. today I disconnected the drive, but now I have new problems: I had a lot of programs installed on the disk I disconnected, and now windows won't let me install ANYTHING. I get this "error 1327" message, which says "invalid drive: d:" (the drive I removed) and nothing will install. so, my question is, what can I do, if anything? do I have to back some things up and reinstall windows, or what?
__________________

Antimullet is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 07:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Can you restate your question...it's confusing. Sounds like to me you said you took your hdd out and you tried to install something??? How can this be?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to Antimullet
Default

ok. what I did was take out my hard drive in order to stop my computer from being confused. I could literally get nothing done on it before, when the drive was in. after the drive was out, I wanted the programs back that I had installed on that hard drive, so I tried to install one on my other drive. for whatever reason, I don't even get to the install process. it only gets as far as initializing the setup process, or starting it, and then it tells me it can't run the setup, and for some reason it tells my the drive I took out has something to do with it. does anyone know what I can do?
Antimullet is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 02:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default

To me, it sounds like your hard drive is going or has already gone bad. The same thing happened to me, and i called gateway( not to mention any names) and they said that my hard drive has gone bad. Try to call the company that makes your computer, and they will be able to run some diagnostics on your pc.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

It sounds like you have TWO drives in your system-yes/no? You list a 120GB Maxtor, is there another one-this D-drive you mention, if so, clear it from the BIOS settings. During bootup it is searching for it and not finding it.

If your OS is on your C drive, and your problem drive is D, this wouldnt affect your OS funtionality. You may have multiple problems.

If you removed Drive D and then you attempt to install a program to a drive that doesnt exist ofcourse you will get an error message. Im unclear what exactly you are attempting to do here.

By removing a drive it may have confused your drive assigments so make sure you fix this.

What is the default path the software wants to install to-it may be hard-coded to point to the D drive ie: D:\programs\money\..... if so, try to change the path to point to your C drive when you are asked to "CONFIRM" the installtion location before you continue with the install.

TIP TIME::::::::

It is of utmost importance to try and be very clear and very specific when asking for help to the best of your abilities. Try to avoid being "VAGUE" about the hardware, software, and type of problem you are experiencing.

I would test your C Drive(Maxtor 120GB) to determine it is still in good shape(scandisk, Maxtors Disk Program) and if it checks out I would reinstall your OS to start fresh.....
ImUseless is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to Antimullet
Default

I finally figured it out today. yes, I did have 2 hard drives, and I'm sorry for not making that clear. however, I'm not so out of it that I'd try to install a program on a drive that isn't there. that error message is what I'd get the minute I tried to run setup. it happened before I did anything in setup. luckily I fixed things: I went through my registry and deleted all the keys with references to the D: drive, and that took care of my problem. thanks anyway
__________________

Antimullet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.