How do I get rid of this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2005, 12:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default How do I get rid of this?

I remember doin this a little while ago but then forgot. On the desktop the icons have a colore background behind the text. How do you get rid of this?
Thank you.

Chris
__________________

__________________
The Rig: Specs
e8500 @ 4.1Ghz, 4Gb OCZ Reapers @ 1152Mhz, Gainward HD 4850 GPU, Asus P5Q-PRO, Corsair 60gb Force Series SSD, Seagate 7200.11 320Gb, Corsair 620W Modular PSU, Vista Home Premium 64
zildjianchris is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

u using xp?
right click on desktop
properties
appearance
advanced
Item: click Selected Items
on the right of it,change the color
__________________

__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default

I think you misunderstood me. It's not when I select an icon. On all desktop icons, it has a background color behind the text. When usually you can see the desktop background behind the text. This is what im trying to get rid of.
Thanks

Chris
__________________
The Rig: Specs
e8500 @ 4.1Ghz, 4Gb OCZ Reapers @ 1152Mhz, Gainward HD 4850 GPU, Asus P5Q-PRO, Corsair 60gb Force Series SSD, Seagate 7200.11 320Gb, Corsair 620W Modular PSU, Vista Home Premium 64
zildjianchris is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 08:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Open System Properties in Control Panel, choose the Advanced tab, and click Settings in the Performance section. Turn on the Use drop shadows for icon labels on the desktop option, and click Ok.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 08:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default

Thank you!
__________________
The Rig: Specs
e8500 @ 4.1Ghz, 4Gb OCZ Reapers @ 1152Mhz, Gainward HD 4850 GPU, Asus P5Q-PRO, Corsair 60gb Force Series SSD, Seagate 7200.11 320Gb, Corsair 620W Modular PSU, Vista Home Premium 64
zildjianchris is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 08:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

sorry about that
__________________

__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.