How do I get a Password? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2003, 03:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default How do I get a Password?

Hey all,

I hope one of you will tell me because Im not going to be using it to any bad advantage! My girlfriend was playing a trick on me and wouldnt tell me my password! My dad said that I could get a password for a user account for Win XP Pro from the regedit!!!:amazed:

Is this possible? and if so, How?
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce® GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 03:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default Re: How do I get a Password?

Quote:
Originally posted by Slam'n Systems
Hey all,

I hope one of you will tell me because Im not going to be using it to any bad advantage! My girlfriend was playing a trick on me and wouldnt tell me my password! My dad said that I could get a password for a user account for Win XP Pro from the regedit!!!:amazed:

Is this possible? and if so, How?
Instead of messing with the registry, IMO you should just reset your password.

Restart your compuer, hit F8 and run in safe mode. Login with the Admin account. Go to control panel-->users and change the password for your account.
__________________

__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

how can he login to the admin account without knowing his password?

i very seriously doubt your password would be in the registry, think of what a security risk that would be if it were that easy to steal passwords.

if you do figure it out man, you need to get even with them, paybacks a *
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

Ohhh...I guess my dad was just messing around with me! Thanks for clearing that up!
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce® GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
how can he login to the admin account without knowing his password?

i very seriously doubt your password would be in the registry, think of what a security risk that would be if it were that easy to steal passwords.

if you do figure it out man, you need to get even with them, paybacks a *

First off, when logging into XP *normally* the Administrator login is not viewable, and you can *only* login as Admin through Safe Mode.

Most people (at least anyone who slightly computer literate) use a different password for the "Administrator" account, from the normal user account. That's the whole point of the Admin account, in case one needs to login, make changes, etc. so unless the same password was used for the Admin account and a normal account, this is the method *most* people use to fix situations like this. So to answer your question "how can he login to the admin account without knowing his password?" - He' should be able to do this, becuase the Admin password should be different.
__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.