How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2007, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista?

So I bought this TV tuner
Newegg.com - Leadtek TV2000XP RM Tuner Card with Remote Control PCI Interface - Retail

Come to find out, there are no drivers for 64 bit. So, I tried going to device manager and pointing it to the folder where the drivers are located but it keeps failing to install immediately. It doesn't even act like it's trying.

They have 64 bit drivers for a model that's similar to this one, but it keeps failing to install immediately for those too. The drivers they provide are all INF files. Any idea how I can force these drivers to install to see if I can get it working? I'll be pretty ticked if I can't get this thing to work.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista?

No you can not force 32 Bit drivers to install on 64 Bit. If you are lucky you might be able to convert them. But you can not force isntall them.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista?

How do you convert them?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista?

Sorry my bad. After checking around. Looks like that can be done easily. Have to know some coding skills.

But by all means research and try it.

convert 32 bit drivers to 64 bit - Google Search
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista?

Bah, I give up. I'm sending this garbage back. Thanks anyway.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 05:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista?

go to the website

Leadtek - We make dreams a reality
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
Ah, I searched their site once, but didn't find anything before.

So, I tried out the Vista 64 driver and it all installed fine with no errors and asked me to reboot. I rebooted and the drivers still aren't installed for the tuner.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 05:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: How do I force a 32 bit driver to install on 64 bit Vista?

Yeah, problem is, that driver is for theTV2000XP Global series, whereas mine is the TV2000XP RM. What a crock of ****. They both probably use the same chipsets, yet I still can't use 64 bit drivers.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista (32bit) wireless driver problems masteroc Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 12-27-2007 09:14 PM
Vista 64 bit, Nvidia 169.25 driver, sysdflt keeps appearing on desktop. Disillusion Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-26-2007 01:22 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.