How do I fix an dell bios Password? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 12:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default How do I fix an dell bios Password?

I have a guy who tried to bios protect his computer he somehow mess up. the password doesn't seem to recognized any key at all except enter on the keyboard so he can't get into it at all


he has a dell comp.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Well you can try to pull the CMOS battery on the motherboard, but if you do not want to open the case and possibly void the warranty, than try this:

Try this password: Dell
(case sensitive)

Note: Maybe you think it is not typing when infact it is, it just wont put ******* when you type.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Would flashing the bios maybe fix it...? just a guess sorry if it does not help
-blitze
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 02:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
Would flashing the bios maybe fix it...? just a guess sorry if it does not help
-blitze
That would be the last resort........
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Ok, sorry.. i ws just wondering if itd help..
-blitze
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Your right though, flashing the BIOS would work, but why do that when you can use the "omnipotent" password. Sometimes flashing the BIOS is dangerous, it could render your computer useless.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 05:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Whats the name of this BIOS?

Try this for these: PC BIOS Security and Maintanance toolkit


Or this for these:

ACER/IBM BIOS
AMI BIOS
AMI WinBIOS 2.5
Award 4.5x/4.6x/6.0
Compaq (1992)
Compaq (New version)
IBM (PS/2, Activa, Thinkpad)
Packard Bell
Phoenix 1.00.09.AC0 (1994), a486 1.03, 1.04, 1.10 A03, 4.05 rev 1.02.943, 4.06 rev 1.13.1107
Phoenix 4 release 6 (User)
Gateway Solo - Phoenix 4.0 release 6
Toshiba
Zenith AMI CmosBackup
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

thank for the replies. I will try the dell option

the bios is phoenix rom bios plus version 1.10 A06
Optiplex GX150

I will try flashing as a last resort
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Try this for these: PC BIOS Security and Maintanance toolkit
will this work on a floppy?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 08:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

there's a password jumper on the mobo. remove it
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.