How do i change my NTFS system to FAT32 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2004, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default How do i change my NTFS system to FAT32

How do i do this ?
__________________

Trax is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

Powerquest's Partition Magic 8 will do that. Though XP claims to run better in NTFS...if you dual boot in Linux and you store your documents on the XP partition, then it is easier to have FAT32. What I do, is keep a seperate FAT32 partition for documents to access them from both Linux and Windows. Windows runs in its own NTFS partition and Knoppix runs in its own Ext3...and they both share my documents in a FAT32 partition. That also helps me when I need to reinstall Windows for whatever reason...I can reformat that partition without loosing my work or having to make a backup. I find reinstallation without removal often does not fix the problem.
__________________

__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

ever since i made it a NTFS system, i have been getting this blue screen that lasts for like 2 seconeds then restarts my computer

do you think this will fix it , whats the problem?
Trax is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trax
ever since i made it a NTFS system, i have been getting this blue screen that lasts for like 2 seconeds then restarts my computer

do you think this will fix it , whats the problem?
highly unlikely..seems like a hardware issue.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

ya i think i might need ANOTEHR motherboard...
Trax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.