How do I? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2007, 03:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default How do I?

Can someone help with the settings to tile open pages in IE or any other programs open and minimized in the taskbar please?

If I have 6 open IE pages they then tileup not showing in a line at the one time in the taskbar. If I am chatting on Yahoo Messenger and have three Yahoo sessions open they then tile up. That is great. How do I reduce IE to tile when three are open.............. thanks

Best regards,
__________________

wallace is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

If you have XP and a referring to the taskbar buttons try:

START>CONTROL PANEL>TASKBAR AND START MENU/ [TASK BAR TAB] Check "Group similar taskbar buttons"

If you have IE7+ and are referring to tabs try:
START>CONTROL PANEL>INTERNET OPTIONS/TABS - SETTINGS.

Decide on which option you want under "When a pop-up is encountered:"

Decide on which option you want under "Open links from other programs in:"
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default Taskbar Grouping

Thanks for your post.

The answer is a registry issue at the following site:

http://www.tunexp.com/tips/customize...ar_group_size/

I am running IE 6.0 XP/SP2

kind regards,
wallace is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 62
Default Taskbar Grouping

My earlier post did not work for me, but below did so I hope it helps others wanting to customize their IE options.


"First off, create a new Restore Point or go into regedit >file> export> create a name for the file like Good Registry and save it to My Documents (or somewhere you'll remember to look if needed).

Now, go through the Registry tree HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVer sion\Explorer\Advanced . In the right hand pane, right click in a blank area and select New >DWordValue> a new file will be created and highlighted, type in TaskbarGroupSize and then click out side the box It should not be highlighted anymore. Double click on the new TaskbarGroupSize file and it will open. Click on the Decimal radio button and enter 00000008 (if 8 or more is the number of windows you want grouped) > OK. Close down the Registry and Reboot."
wallace is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.