How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2008, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 25
Default How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

Windows Vista somehow automatically sets file permission on my files/folders. Is there a way that these are disabled? (so all files/folders can be accessed by ANYONE). I never had any problems with Windows XP and NTFS.

I don't want to have problems with permissions when I switch back to XP or with Linux and NTFS.
__________________

LincolnX is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

turn off uac?
http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Win...d3eae1033.mspx
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

UAC is already disabled.
LincolnX is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

rereading your post...
I don't want to have problems with permissions when I switch back to XP or with Linux and NTFS

not sure what you are wanting to solve
unless you are wanting to disable:
Search Results
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

I am tried to rename a folder (D:\Documents to Documents_old). It get the following error: "You need permission to perform this action". After that I messed around with Vista's Security settings (Access control and permissions), but I am still not capable to change the folder name.
LincolnX is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 05:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

You need to take ownership of that folder.

How to take ownership of files in Vista - TheTechArea.com

Since you are trying to rename a folder this is what you have to do. It has nothing to do with the UAC. This would happen if you tried to rename any folder or tried to access your XP Profile while it was password protected.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 05:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

I thought that might have been the other thing...I do it half thinking so couldn't tell you how to do it from Xp (at work and all)
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 03:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

I took ownership with the commands:
Code:
takeown /F D:\folder
cacls D:\folder /g Users:F
After that I had to restart explorer.exe and it worked, thanks!!
LincolnX is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 04:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

Not a problem. Yes you way is a tad easier. But I wrote up that tutorial a while back. It was nice and easy for me back then to jsut do that as i only need to get permissions over 1 or 2 folders. Not a big group of them.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 08:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 23
Question Re: How to disable "You need permission to perform this action" with Windows Vista?

This might help?

Turning off Vista UAC
__________________

! Whitey ! is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Windows Vista SP1 Prerequisite Update Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-10-2008 02:20 AM
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 08:35 PM
The Vista Death Watch EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 112 11-20-2007 12:20 PM
Windows turning into a window full of windows in vista, how to stop? jonathanwest Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-02-2007 06:58 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.