How to configure my firewire connection? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 03:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shortstop20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 251
Default How to configure my firewire connection?

How do I tranfer files from my laptop(Win XP Pro) to my home computer(Win XP Home) using Firewire. I can't seem to find anywhere to configure the connection. I need to transfer the beta version of Vista onto my home computer.
__________________

__________________
BIOSTAR TA790GXB Mobo - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core Black Edition Win 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel -
Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler - Antec Truepower 2.0 480W PS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB SATA HDD - Seagate 120GB SATA HDD
Plextor PX716A DVD-R/RW - LG DVD-ROM - Hauppage PVR-250 TV Tuner - Antec Silver Aluminum Case
shortstop20 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shortstop20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 251
Default

....And before someone flames on me...it's NOT an illegal edition. It's legit from MSDN!
__________________

__________________
BIOSTAR TA790GXB Mobo - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core Black Edition Win 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel -
Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler - Antec Truepower 2.0 480W PS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB SATA HDD - Seagate 120GB SATA HDD
Plextor PX716A DVD-R/RW - LG DVD-ROM - Hauppage PVR-250 TV Tuner - Antec Silver Aluminum Case
shortstop20 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Connect your system lan to lan not through the firewire port: Run a local are network setup on both computers. Use norton ghost to transfer your os.

Edit: nevermind using ghost. Once you have a Lan then just trasfer in the installation files to the PC.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 01:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shortstop20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 251
Default

Is it possible to use Firewire to transfer the files though? Firewire transfer should be faster than a 100Mbps LAN connection.
__________________
BIOSTAR TA790GXB Mobo - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core Black Edition Win 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel -
Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler - Antec Truepower 2.0 480W PS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB SATA HDD - Seagate 120GB SATA HDD
Plextor PX716A DVD-R/RW - LG DVD-ROM - Hauppage PVR-250 TV Tuner - Antec Silver Aluminum Case
shortstop20 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by shortstop20
Is it possible to use Firewire to transfer the files though? Firewire transfer should be faster than a 100Mbps LAN connection.
yes but you got to hook it up to each other
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 04:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shortstop20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 251
Default

Yes I realize that....LOL. I had the cable hooked up to BOTH computers. I just couldn't figure out how to access the C: on my laptop from my home computer so that I can transfer the files.
How can it be so hard to answer one question?
__________________
BIOSTAR TA790GXB Mobo - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core Black Edition Win 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel -
Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler - Antec Truepower 2.0 480W PS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB SATA HDD - Seagate 120GB SATA HDD
Plextor PX716A DVD-R/RW - LG DVD-ROM - Hauppage PVR-250 TV Tuner - Antec Silver Aluminum Case
shortstop20 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you right click the drive and select share. RicoDirenzo already told you to run the network setup wizard, so we figured you already had the answer.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 07:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shortstop20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 251
Default

I don't see anywhere in the Network Setup Wizard that allows me to configure a Firewire connection between 2 computers so that I can transfer files?
__________________
BIOSTAR TA790GXB Mobo - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Quad-Core Black Edition Win 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB DDR2 800 Dual Channel -
Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120 mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler - Antec Truepower 2.0 480W PS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB SATA HDD - Seagate 120GB SATA HDD
Plextor PX716A DVD-R/RW - LG DVD-ROM - Hauppage PVR-250 TV Tuner - Antec Silver Aluminum Case
shortstop20 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 07:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

IEEE 1394 shows up on my computer connections when I run the network set up wizard. I click the "ignore disconnected hardware" option since I don't use it.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.