How? - Cloning a fresh install of OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2005, 11:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Wink How? - Cloning a fresh install of OS

I really would like your expert input please.
I am fed up with reinstalling my Win XP Pro OS then setting it all up how I like it, then installing drivers, software etc. It takes me 2 days at least and I have a couple of PC's to do sometimes.
I bought a 60gig USB portable drive recently so I could install the OS and programs on it then when I need to do a reinstall on any of my PC's, hopefully, I just clone the stuff.
I partition my PC's so that the OS is on one partition and programs are on another.
Could you walkme through formatting PC and copying from portable to PC hard drive please?
I have Drive Image 7
What I can't figure is:
If I have a bare hard drive how can I get the PC to see the portable drive?
The hardware on each PC is different. Will that matter? I guess when I have the OS on and fire it up hardware will be recognized and drivers installed?
Thanks for your help
PC manufacturers must be doing this all the time I guess.
__________________

Richie is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well, I'm not a user of drivemage so I'm not going to help you there.
I'm sure several other will be able to assist you on that.
as for how the vendors do it, they use a tool called sysprep that setups the system for deployment. Then capture the whole systemdrive using a full clone of the drive to image. The images are then used to reimage the other drives in mass numbers...
This can be applied to what you want to do as well, only in a simplier manner.
As I said I don't use drive image, so I'm not going to give you much for releiable info on that, but it comes to this...
The program you boot with will need native USB support/drives. Then you will clone the drive from your system to the external enclosure. (at least this is what I'm suspecting you are wanting) I would actually create an image file instead, but that is me. the task is just reversed when you want to get the data back. if you do this every 2 weeks, you are pretty safe as far as keeping your image/backup current.
hope you find the help you need and good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 04:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What you need to do is set you OS the way you want it, get a dvd burner and burn everything use Norton Ghost or something similiar and you want have to go thru that again.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 09:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 188
Default

So Norton Ghost?
What exactly does it create? A mirror of the hard drive state or some type of massive file that needs to be ran/extracted to get the original state back?
Seiken is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 11:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

well, ghost has the options for both. You can clode the drive over to another or create the images. Ghost spanns the images into 2gb files, so if you have 10gb of data, you get 5 files all about 2 gb each.
Drive image I would suspect to work the same.
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 188
Default

Cool. So instead of formatting and reinstalling the OS, you could overwrite your current state with a previous one created by Ghost having the same effect as a clean reinstall?
Seiken is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

yup. That is the case. Pretty cool huh?
Inaris is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 188
Default

Awesome! I'm gonna have to grab myself a copy!
Seiken is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 05:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I have a dos version of ghost that you boot off of and you can sector copy 1 drive to the other . Ghost is cool
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 06:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

yes, ghost is a very useful tool
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.