How to Change the System Drive to another HD ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2007, 03:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question How to Change the System Drive to another HD ?

My system is running XP Pro and currently has (3) HDs.

Currently the Windows System Drive is setup on an old 40GB 5400RPM HD. C: drive.

I would like to change the System Drive over to one of my newer/faster 80GB 7200RPM HDs.

How do I go about doing this ??

Can I simply swap the physical locations (on the IDE cables) and accomplish this ???
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: How to Change the System Drive to another HD ?

You need to make an image and then apply to your new drive
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Re: How to Change the System Drive to another HD ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warez Monster View Post
You need to make an image and then apply to your new drive
Roger that. I'll do it now.

What needs done so I can boot to the new HD and ensure that the SYSTEM files are being utilized on it ?
Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: How to Change the System Drive to another HD ?

you shouldnt have to do anything. Its just a hard drive swap. I use Acronis
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: How to Change the System Drive to another HD ?

run the clone disc part.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Is a cheap hard drive messing up my system? Hellasweet Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 09-10-2007 02:53 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.