How can I disable SP2 fire wall? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2004, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default How can I disable SP2 fire wall?

I got SP2 today (against my will, but some programs require it to work) and I can't find out how to disable the firewall that comes with it, please help!
Yan
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Start menu>Control Panel>Internet & Network Options>Network Options>LAC rclick to get properties>Advanced Tab>Settings Button>Disable Firewall.


~ Fawks
__________________

Red Fox is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

but when I click on Security Center in the control panel, it still says on in big, annoying, green letters
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

control panel>network & internet connections>windows firewall>turn off ..


~ Fawks
Red Fox is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

www.oyah.net has great operating system simulators, click on the I-sims link on the top menu, and check it out.


~ Fawks
Red Fox is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 07:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

umm, exactly what is this Oyah?
What does i-sims do?
yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

It has simulators for operating systems. So, for example, if you are not sure you want to navigate through your system to do something on your own, or are unsure of how to do something, just click on your os version, and try it on theirs .. it shows windows defaults and how to turn options on/off.


~ Fawks
Red Fox is offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 01:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: How can I disable SP2 fire wall?

www.temulator.com - Total Emulator
Is another great site for software simulation. It like oyah, but better, faster, and with newer content. I am always use it in my work.
__________________

temsupport is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.