how to bypass university firewall? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Unhappy how to bypass university firewall?


Hi all,

BitComet does don work in our university

i need a program to bypass tthe firewall and so bitcomet will work

your help in appreciated alot

thanks
__________________

Dr_Abdullah is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Check your Terms of Service I'm sure doing this will revoke the Network privlages.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you wont get thru.....just leave this situation alone.....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Check your Terms of Service I'm sure doing this will
revoke the Network privlages.
actually, i didn't get ur point
Dr_Abdullah is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr_Abdullah
actually, i didn't get ur point
no more pc for you.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
void's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 198
Default

Basically, you find a way round, the university will cut your connection, so don't bother. There is a reason that firewall is there, to stop outsiders getting in, and insiders opening up the network to security threats.
void is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 05:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: how to bypass university firewall?

Quote:
Originally posted by Dr_Abdullah

Hi all,

BitComet does don work in our university

i need a program to bypass tthe firewall and so bitcomet will work

your help in appreciated alot

thanks
Changing the ports your program is using may work. However if I am thinking right, you need to port foward to use most torrents. And you cannot port foward on their routers.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 06:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

dont even try it.... theyll track you down and Slice your connection
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

This is a tough subject because most of us here work in the I.T. industry as network administrators or systems analyst's which it is our job/responsibility to keep our networks secure. They have firewalls and ports blocked for a reason not really to prevent you from enjoying the internet experience, but to keep the network secure.

Can it be done? Yep it sure can, but as mentioned they will EASILY track you down and cut off your internet connection. So basically it comes down to do you wish to use the bit torrent client until you are caught and have no internet at all for the rest of your school term or have the internet for the rest of the school term and have no bit torrent client.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Win2kpatcher
This is a tough subject because most of us here work in the I.T. industry as network administrators or systems analyst's which it is our job/responsibility to keep our networks secure. They have firewalls and ports blocked for a reason not really to prevent you from enjoying the internet experience, but to keep the network secure.

Can it be done? Yep it sure can, but as mentioned they will EASILY track you down and cut off your internet connection. So basically it comes down to do you wish to use the bit torrent client until you are caught and have no internet at all for the rest of your school term or have the internet for the rest of the school term and have no bit torrent client.
I must say, their probolly waay too undermaned to track people.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.