How to buckup HDD onto CD, DVD or Spare HDD ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 03:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to AMD_Rules
Default How to buckup HDD onto CD, DVD or Spare HDD ?

Hi i was wondering after installing windows and all my programs i was wondering if there is any software enabaling me to backup my HDD onto either CD or preferably DVD or another HDD that i could use as an image so that in the case of system failure i dont have to install everything again just put the image from CD or DVD or HDD onto HDD also so i dont have to re-activate windows again which is WinXP Media Center Edition 2005

Thanks for any replie given
__________________

AMD_Rules is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 07:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Symantec ghost will solve all your problems
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 07:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to AMD_Rules
Default

Will it allow me to backup my HDD to DVD
AMD_Rules is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 07:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 76
Default

You know, there is a large amount of imaging software. A year ago I was searching and compare many of them, for several days, and stopped at Acronis True Image. I think it's the easiest and most convenient backup software. I just create an exact image of the whole HDD, save it on "D" drive and another copy on DVD, also you could make a bootable CD. It takes reasonable amount of space due to highest level compression. Whenever I want, I could easily restore image, it takes me about 10min. And you needn't re-activate or reinstall windows, as image contains all apps and data!
Defence is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 08:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to AMD_Rules
Default

Is there any free software out there capable of doin a HDD bootable cd lol ?
AMD_Rules is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 08:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 76
Default

Hi, AMD_Rules. I have no credence to freeware software, as they couldn't give any guarantee. But Acronis has free download trial edition for 15 days, which you could test before. I almost sure that you'll want to continue use this soft.
Defence is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 09:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to AMD_Rules
Default

yea i got ghost a trial but dont know how to use it i need software that will just make a bootable DVD containing my Hard drive on it is it illegal for me to activate my windows again if my machine fails and i have to re-install it ?
AMD_Rules is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 09:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to AMD_Rules
Default

sorry if i am asking silly questions but the way i see it you dont kno summit till you been told
AMD_Rules is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 10:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

This isn't really the type of software you want to find a freeware version of.

If you can't afford software, manually backup or use some freeware backup software to backup all your data and settings onto CD/DVD.

If you want to make an image/clone you can rely on, pay the $ for the software.

Just my opinion
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 11:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

No, it is not illegal you activate windows again. I believe that you can activate 3 times beofre you get the message that you've activated the maximum number of times. Even then, all you have to do is call MS and you can activate it an unlimited number of times.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.