How to block website - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2005, 01:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Default

i heard you can block certain DOmains if you are the admin or sumthing not sure if anybody does please HELP!!!!!!!!!
__________________

Darybart is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 04:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: RE:

Quote:
Originally posted by cyclones
You could use the content Advisor that you have on your computer. See attached file
I never knew that that was there. I use to nis 2004 and it didn't work good.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Net Nanny...
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Default

I KNOW THERE IS A WAY BECAUSE THE PLACE I WOKR THEY BLOCK DOMAINS>
Darybart is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

right click on the popup, get the properties, add it to the security center and most will be blocked, but i have this one thats called ad.firstsoultion.com that is a pain. I managed to block the pic inside the window but it still comes up but only blank this time
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I don't want my kids accessing porn
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 03:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Default

I know that there is a way to block age restricted sites, There are programson the net you can download as well however, these programs run on rattings (example the owner of website has to put age 18+) inorder for these programs to block it!!!!!
Darybart is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 03:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Default

You could Always tell your kids they are not allowed to and check the histroy,cookies to see if they have many, porno websites load cookies onto your computer,Just make sure your cookes are enable,Also if they are a bit cleaver you can download a program that allows you to undelte cookies,histroy to see,If you are REALLY NEEDING IT install spy software onto the computer they use,and then it basically takes photo's of the thing happing on the computer, and then youcan view the thing they view (COOL!)
Darybart is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 04:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Darybart
You could Always tell your kids they are not allowed to and check the histroy,cookies to see if they have many, porno websites load cookies onto your computer,Just make sure your cookes are enable,Also if they are a bit cleaver you can download a program that allows you to undelte cookies,histroy to see,If you are REALLY NEEDING IT install spy software onto the computer they use,and then it basically takes photo's of the thing happing on the computer, and then youcan view the thing they view (COOL!)
one day I was checking their history and found out that they were accessing porn.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 04:14 AM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

is there a way to make FF block sites?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.