How to block website - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default How to block website

I want to block certain website from my computer. How could it be possible ? I am using windows XP.

Thank you.
__________________

linux1880 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

through IE :

Tools / Internet Options / Security / Restricted Sites.

__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 03:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via Yahoo to linux1880
Default

it didn't help
linux1880 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 07:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

I think certain firewalls have that option
dnoch is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 08:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your hardware firewall can possibly do that, what kinda router are you using?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 11:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148
Default

Do a google search for free internet filters, I have come across a few that will block websites in IE, but not Firefox.

Try these:

http://www.radiance.m6.net/
http://www.sofotex.com/A+-Web-Filter...ad_L26847.html
http://www.freewareweb.com/cgi-bin/archive.cgi?ID=1719

I've used a few of these and they seem to work well for IE.

-GrayWolf
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 01:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE:

You could use the content Advisor that you have on your computer. See attached file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg filter.jpg (24.8 KB, 59 views)
cyclones is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Default

sygate firewall allows you to block web domains
Darybart is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 02:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Zone Alarm Pro 6.6.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 02:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Net Nanny...
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.