The Hosts file - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 09:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default The Hosts file

I'm trying to block some sites. When I open the hosts file in wordpad. to make a 127.0.0.1 entry (making my system block by reverting back to itself), it takes some time for it to work, and now when I delete the entry, the site won't load again.

I guess there's some step that I'm overlooking- even rebooting Windows isn't making the deleted entry load again.
__________________

Jake is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 10:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

OK the program Hostman seems to take care of this with the disabling feature, but that program is buggy. I've tried other host file managers but they don't even work.
__________________

Jake is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

which on are you using?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

I downloaded the zip file here
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm

and my OS is WinME.

It must be a saving problem, but I tried saving both as .bat and .sam, in upper case. Seems I can get it to work eventually after a whole lotta BS, but I'm still having trouble deleting entries.
Jake is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what directory do you have it in?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

C:/Windows
Jake is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

Any ideas Warez?
Jake is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Ive been trying it but I can seem to replicate your problem, Im on XP thou....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.