homepage of IE - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2004, 06:13 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

lol u posted that last one as i was typing out my last one, what is it setting ur homepage to?
__________________

__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 06:20 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

homepage --> hot-searches . And I wonder why Norton let me run anything which I don't know it contains Trojan horse as well. I'm using Norton 2002. I know it's too old. I'll use another anti-virus software.
__________________

__________________
Happy to help or to be helped :)
Traudong is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 07:26 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

I have a simpler way to get rid of the damn hot-searches is reinstalling IE. Thanks neversleeps
__________________
Happy to help or to be helped :)
Traudong is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 08:18 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Traudong
I have a simpler way to get rid of the damn hot-searches is reinstalling IE. Thanks neversleeps
i wonder if in the registry change everything in run services and all just by reinstalling ie
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 11:51 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

I don't know. I can't find any inf about hot -searches in the registry so I try to reinstall IE. I think it works.
__________________
Happy to help or to be helped :)
Traudong is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:21 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

i have no idea what this will do but i went thru ur hijackthis log and starting visiting some of the hot searches sites in it using mozilla, anyways point is i clicked on the contact us link on one of them and found they have been having some complaints about their page hijacking ppls homepages, gee what a surprise, well supposedly they made a so called cleaner for this and its supposed to fix ur homepage from being hijacked to hot searches so heres the link to it if u wanna try it, http://81.211.105.68/cleaner.exe and here is the page that i found it on http://81.211.105.68/contact.html
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:24 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

Thanks again
__________________
Happy to help or to be helped :)
Traudong is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:32 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

And I found out that DAP have downloaded the hot-searches automatically. So I think it's better for me to uninstall DAP.
__________________
Happy to help or to be helped :)
Traudong is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 02:06 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Hi Traudong nice to meet you !
Symantec, Norton, Kasperski are market leaders today.
Try to download virus database update, usually it store new virus signatures every day.
wade is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 02:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 148
Default

Yeap, though my Norton is 2002 version, I still update it. But, do you think 1 anti-virus software is enough?
__________________

__________________
Happy to help or to be helped :)
Traudong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.