Home or Pro? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2004, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 48
Default Home or Pro?

Hello people,

I have XP Home and I was wondering is it really worth it to format my whole hard drive and put a clean install of XP Pro on my HD instead?

Would it make games and apps run quicker etc ... ?

Replies are very grateful!

- Delboy

Delboy :) is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

I don't think it would make games and apps quicker.
If you already have Pro then I would just install it.
There are a few differences in Home and Pro..i don't know all of them. For example: Pro supports dual CPU and dynamic drive.

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

Pro is also more customizable, like you can lock certain features and make certain tweaks that you can't do in Home without extensive registry editing.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to OCC Fan

i like pro, if you have home, stick with it. its not worth spendin another 100 sometin dollars for pro.
OCC Fan is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 24

Peter McFlight is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to Iron_Cross Send a message via MSN to Iron_Cross Send a message via Yahoo to Iron_Cross

Pro is by far worth it. Especially with SP2. Now that I use Pro, I'll NEVER go back to Home.

See today\'s Penny-Arcade!(May contain foul lanuage)
Pain is weakness leaving the body.

PM Me for my MSN
Iron_Cross is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144

I heard there are some commands in pro that you can't use in home.
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 12:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

I prefer pro for the networking options. Really useful for me if I am changing the networks all the time.

I have lost count the number of times that I have been at a LAN party and you get some one with XP Home ; and the computer refused to do any thing with the new network that we are trying to connect it too.

The other reason why i need PRO at home is that I need to connect to the office SBS server from time to time via VPM.

XP Home is many there for the standard end user that really does nothing more that keep is computer in the same envorment.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 11:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

If you have a home network, then it might be helpful to use Pro. Most of the extra functionality in Pro has to do with networking.


Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.