home media os - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2005, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default home media os

I am probably going to answer my own question, but I will ask it anyway. Can you make home media os the remote desktop server or even make it a type of server? I have a feeling you can not but it is worth a try.
__________________

adambcohen is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Watchoo talkin' bout willis???
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what exactly are you talking about?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default home media os

I have a client who would like to have a home media os pc running in a cabinet all the time. Then from a laptop that would like to access the programs. They are trying to make the home media pc act like a server in certain situations. With that can I make that pc the remote desktop server and the laptop the client. My understanding is that the home media os is like xp pro, but with more bells and wistles. Let me know what you think or if there might be a better solution.

Thank you
adambcohen is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 10:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

You wanna access it across the internet?Or just on the home network?
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 06:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

either way would be fine as long as I can see the desktop and access certain apps and so forth.
adambcohen is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 10:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

setting up a network will make both comps server and client.

sharing files will be easy, apps is another story.i guess theoretically you can share progs that arent tied too close to the registry.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 11:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

But if I use a vnc I would be able to see the desktop and so forth.
adambcohen is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 03:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

yes
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8
Default

If by chance you come up with anything or even have a better suggestion please let me know.
__________________

adambcohen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.