High CPU usage when downloading? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default High CPU usage when downloading?

High CPU usage when downloading?
Hi,
I have a Dell dimension 8300 desktop. Only recently, my computer has started to have a high a CPU usage whenever I am downloading stuff, be it from torrent or from firefox/IE. By having high CPU usage, my mouse would get laggy, the music I played from I tunes/wm player would skip, keyboard input would lag and skip too. All this only happen when I am downloading, I am still able to play games, or run several program at the same time without lagging.

Does anyone have any advice to help me with this problem?

Thanks in advance

Here is a link to my PC specification:

http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/S...7SPWZ1HYJSHP1Q
__________________

empty87 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Hmm...

What firewall are you using? You might want to try downloading something with it disabled and see if that corrects your problem.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you have alot of RAM, unusual for a Dell.

Scan for spyware and viruses.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 02:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I am using Mcafee, it is still the same problem with no firewall =(

I scanned for both viruses and spyware, cleaned everything but I still have the same problem

I just added 2 x 1GB additional ram recently, but the problem has been there even before I added the ram.

Thanks for the advice so far guys
empty87 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
jbc
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 225
Default

Mc Afee's firewall typically uses a lot of CPU time since it takes an active view to protecting your system. On top of that the hard drive is the second slowest component on your computer, which contributes to the problem. The slowest part of your computer is you. You can add all the RAM you want and it won't make a difference. The only thing that you can do to fix this problem is to put in the quickest hard drive controller that you can lay your hands on. The only solution is to read for the drive faster.
jbc is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 10:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Jbc, what you said is not helping me at all. I do understand that the Mcafee uses a lot of CPU, and that my hard drive reads a bit slow, but this has not been the case the past few months. I did not change my antivirus or HD a single way. Why is the problem occuring only now and not before then?
__________________

empty87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.