High Cpu Usage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2005, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 85
Default High Cpu Usage

recently my pc has been using alot of CPU usage and tyhe fan is randomly going on full for no reason
i did CTRL ALT DEL and found that explorer.exe is using 51% CPU im sure this isnt normal cud it be virus or spyware? explorer.exe is using 23,000K and BitLord is using 68,000K
what shud i do?
__________________

__________________
Compaq Presario S6800UK
Pentium 4
3.0 GHZ
1GB DDR Ram
200GB HD
256mb Radeon 9600
Latty05 is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15
Default

no exe is stand alone they all use various modules (DLL's) so its very possible its spyware , do the folowing

1) scan with f-secure blacklight
http://www.europe.f-secure.com/exclu...ght/blbeta.exe

2) scan online on these sites
http://www.kaspersky.com/virusscanner
http://www.bitdefender.com/scan8/ie.html
http://www.ewido.net/en/onlinescan/
(its best to scan in safe mode , if your internet connection can work in safe mode at least)

3) scan with microsoft antispyware/adaware/spybot
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4466.html
http://www.download.com/Ad-Aware-SE-...ml?tag=lst-0-2
http://www.download.com/Spybot-Searc...-10122137.html
update the definitions before scanning , also its better to scan in safe mode (some spywares are very persistent and cant be removed in regular mode)

4) when all done with above , get hijackthis http://www.merijn.org/files/hijackthis.zip click "do a system scan and save a logfile" and open a new thread about it at http://techist.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=126 and copy & paste the log
__________________

mario is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Explorer.exe is your desktop. Mine takes up 58,000K but only about 1% of my processor. Are you doing anything that could cause the CPU Spike? Changing a background or screensaver or something. BitLord is you torrent application to download material. If you dont want or use that i would find out who else has been on the PC. Do as mario sugested but that is just a heads up on what those applications are that you posted about.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 85
Default

i ran virus scan and it found 4 adware it deleted 1 of them and said the others were in Internet Explorer temp internet files so i deleted all the temp internet files and then run microsfot anti spyware and it found one high risk thing called VIRTUMONDO and it had asbout 30 siganatures whatever that is so i deleted it and rebooted and then run the scan again and it was still there!
the cpu has dropped to normal now about 4-6% but its weird it just suddenly goes up to 50 randomly and the fan just goes mental its so annoying!
__________________
Compaq Presario S6800UK
Pentium 4
3.0 GHZ
1GB DDR Ram
200GB HD
256mb Radeon 9600
Latty05 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

How is it weird if it's spyware?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 12:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I just cleaned out a computer of many spyware and this system had the same problem so bad you couldnt hardly use it.I cleaned the spyware out and did a s6ystem restore to an earler time and it fixed it.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 85
Default

well ive tracked down VIRTUMUNDO its got a filename called vturr.dll in system32 directory i tried blocking it in microsoft antispyware but each time it just came back its a BHO i tried deleting it manually but says being used by other program or person which means its a process? but i dont knowe which process
i look around other forums and there is a Virtumundofix but it needs forum techies to tell me the right file names to delete and i need 2 file names even tho i only hav regonised 1
i hav posted my hijack this log
any help?
__________________

__________________
Compaq Presario S6800UK
Pentium 4
3.0 GHZ
1GB DDR Ram
200GB HD
256mb Radeon 9600
Latty05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.