HIGH CPU usage ???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2007, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question HIGH CPU usage ????

I have an system running XP Pro, AMD XP1800+ w/512MB Ram. It was built on a refreshly (< 2 weeks) formatted 80GB HD.

I'm having a very difficult time with this system since it is continually running a 100% CPU utilization. I've installed and scanned using AGV and Ad-Ware to NO avail.

I'm behind Windows Firewall and a router as well.

I've tried locating the culprit using Task Mgr and that will NO show what program is causing this.

I'm suspecting a virus/trojan at this point, but the system is very fresh and HAS been protected via AVG from the get go.

Where do I go from here ?

I'm working on obtaining a HJT log right now (to post here).


TIA!!
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Re: HIGH CPU usage ????

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 8:23:23 PM, on 9/13/2007
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16512)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cisvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\Program Files\Speed Disk\nopdb.exe
C:\Program Files\Hijackthis\HijackThis.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = MSNBC - MSNBC - Breaking World and US News Stories & Headlines - Get the Latest Business, Health, Entertainment, Sports, & Technology updates from around the world Front Page
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = MSN.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = Live Search
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = Live Search
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = MSN.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - %windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - %windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe (file missing)
O11 - Options group: [INTERNATIONAL] International*
O15 - Trusted Zone: MSI -- MICRO-STAR INT'L CO.,LTD.
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: {8167C273-DF59-4416-B647-C8BB2C7EE83E} (WebSDev Control) - http://liveupdate.msi.com.tw/autobio...ne/install.cab
O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server (Avg7Alrt) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service (Avg7UpdSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
O23 - Service: AVG E-mail Scanner (AVGEMS) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
O23 - Service: Norton Unerase Protection (NProtectService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
O23 - Service: Speed Disk service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Speed Disk\nopdb.exe
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: HIGH CPU usage ????

Go to the Task Manager and click on the processes tab. Then see which one has the highest CPU usage, under the CPU column.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Re: HIGH CPU usage ????

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Go to the Task Manager and click on the processes tab. Then see which one has the highest CPU usage, under the CPU column.
I did already. System Idle was at 99%. The offending program is NOT showing up under Task Manager.

Any hints in my HJT log ??
Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Default Re: HIGH CPU usage ????

Anybody ?
Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: HIGH CPU usage ????

Well your HiJack log looks good. The AVG and Norton things would be the only thing i would question at this point. Maybe the Norton UnErase?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Re: HIGH CPU usage ????

> To do this try Process Explorer:
> Process Explorer v11.01


OK, I've done this and discovered under the System Idle Process....

- INTERRUPTS are running around 60%

and

- DPCs are running around................40%
Katmandu is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Thumbs up Re: HIGH CPU usage ????

Turns out it was an Interrupt Storm caused after I added an External USB hub on to an Internal USB hub. Apparently, they didn't play nice together for some odd reason.

Thank you for your input.
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu Hookster264 Overclocking and Modding 7 09-11-2007 01:25 AM
3000 High Resolution Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 6 07-09-2007 02:53 AM
CPU Usage And Crashing, svchost.exe sucking up CPU Usage Bahamut Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 05-30-2007 06:01 PM
Abnormal CPU usage spikes Meithan Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-03-2007 12:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.