hiding programs (vista_ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2007, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default hiding programs (vista_

I have a bot that runs on my video game. i want to know how to hide it and stuff using a software. I cannot minimize the software. Which means if my brother or sister is using the comptuer they always close the window and the bot doesn't work. Any tips on how to hide a software? At first I deleted Explorer. exe but they just restarted the comptuer and now my bot doesn't run.

Cliff
- I want to run a software hidden
thanks
__________________

akasixcon is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: hiding programs (vista_

Well you definitely don't want to delete Explorer.exe!!!!!!!!!

Explorer.exe is the basics of your Windows GUI! It is responsible for making the icons on the screen, the taskbar, etc, so you definitely DO NOT want to delete it. You can try making two user accounts, go to your profile, open your game server, do a Switch User, then have them log in. Windows would keep your account logged in and your programs running but they would not be able to see or close your programs (unless they're administrators, they could go to Task Manager and end task, but it won't be on the task bar).
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: hiding programs (vista_

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
Well you definitely don't want to delete Explorer.exe!!!!!!!!!

Explorer.exe is the basics of your Windows GUI! It is responsible for making the icons on the screen, the taskbar, etc, so you definitely DO NOT want to delete it. You can try making two user accounts, go to your profile, open your game server, do a Switch User, then have them log in. Windows would keep your account logged in and your programs running but they would not be able to see or close your programs (unless they're administrators, they could go to Task Manager and end task, but it won't be on the task bar).
Thats a good idea! Thanks. I've never thought of it that way. I'll try it out.
akasixcon is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: hiding programs (vista_

Sometimes doing a switch user wont leave the applications running. They may not stay running since the profile is not active as well.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: hiding programs (vista_

I'll test in XP and report my findings. User 1 will host an online game server and be an admin account. User 2 will be switched to and see if the server is active or not, also admin account.

EDIT: I'm pretty sure it will work. Just setup a user named "stupid" who's also an administrator. I hosted a Jedi Academy server on my username (crossed out in the picture) and then Switch User'ed to stupid. I was able to join that server using LAN play as well as capture this image comparing Task Manager showing current user vs. all users.

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 08:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: hiding programs (vista_

IT may work in XP but Vista is different.

I remember just trying to run a torrent in 1 accoutn then switching to another account to check email. Wheni cam back to the original account it had turned everything off.

But it still could work. I think mine didnt cause i use the hidden Admin account.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: hiding programs (vista_

Maybe the hidden account only stays running if it's an administrator...I'm not sure. All I know is that Vista is full of bugs and it seems like it would do stuff like that. I should try though, our Vista comp already has users, so it's worth a try.

Personally, I run servers, downloads, etc that need a lot of resources on their own computer, then use my laptop or other computer to check email, Internet, or play games, but of course you need more than one computer for that to work.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 11:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: hiding programs (vista_

Well i have Vista installed. But sadly i just dont want to leave Ubuntu to try this. I know that some apps have stayed running for me. Like uTorrent and that. but others have cut off. It is Vista and there are some quirks with it. Espically when some Networking things are involved. The new netowrk stack for Vista operates very differently than XP.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 11:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: hiding programs (vista_

Ah. Yeah, I agree with you. I wouldn't leave Ubuntu for any version of Windows

But I'll try it ...eventually
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista compatible image loading programs og5 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 07-30-2007 10:47 AM
VISTA Installing Programs Latty05 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-10-2007 03:46 PM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM
Programs that I found don't run on Vista plumber4578 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-12-2007 09:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.