Hiding icons in the systemtray - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2004, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Question Hiding icons in the systemtray

I would like to know how you can hide certain programs that start up in the systemstay? I am using windows XP and i know you can right click on start and go 2 properties|taskbar|customize and set it to always hide but it will still show if u click on the arrow.... I believe there is a way u can hide it by going in to the registry so that when windows loads the program will still load in the systemtray but will not be shown at all... not use if this makes sense to any one but would really like some help as it has been bugging me for to long! thanks you
__________________

Gwadue is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 12:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Send a message via Yahoo to raj_1024
Default

hi dude
first go to startup menu and click on run then type msconfig there u will find an option startup in that u can see all the prgrams which r running and which r on system tray by unticking a specified program that program can removed from system tray .
__________________

__________________
hi everybody
raj_1024 is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

yes u can, but im pretty sure hes talking about removing the icon from the sys tray but still having the prog. run at startup. if u uncheck them in msconfig they will no longer start when windows does.
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Yer that is what i want to do.. romve the icon in the systray but still have the program run at startup...i did try that msconfig but didnt work because it didnt run the program at start up at all
Ne more suggestions plz ppl??
Gwadue is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I would be very greatful if some1 could tell me how this is done because i would really really really like to know! thanks
Gwadue is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.