Help! XP will NOT boot up - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2007, 04:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Exclamation Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
hit f8 to go to safe mode, then hit

disable automatic restart and tell us the error code
It was not able to access Safe Mode after hitting the F8 key.

How can I access this drive to Re-install XP ???
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 03:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 62
Default Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

this is so gay.

my computer started doing it too.

i'll try the F8 thing and post my BSoD shizzle here.
__________________

Tool462 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 03:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 62
Default Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

the problem i have though is that it doesnt happen every time.

It happens every now and again, and sometimes even closes what i'm doing and shows the screen and restarts.

I noticed this though: I was putting the side case back on my computer and turned it on. It then said that it could not find a hard drive to boot from. So I took the case back off and checked my hard drive, and i found a little cut on the side of the IDE cable with a little bit of wire showing. I'm not sure if this may be the problem though.

Katmandu, check your hard drives IDE cable and post back
Tool462 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 10:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Exclamation Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tool462 View Post
Katmandu, check your hard drives IDE cable and post back
All appear to be in VGC.

I still can't get my HD to boot up properly.

Is there a way I can reinstall the O/S on it from another location ???
Katmandu is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 10:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

try spinrite 6.0
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 07:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Thumbs up Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricB View Post
try spinrite 6.0
Will Google it right now. Thanks.
Katmandu is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 12:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

any luck on this ?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 04:14 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Unhappy Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warez Monster View Post
any luck on this ?
Not yet...

I'm not sure I want to spent $70 or so on Spinrite right now. Looks like a excellant program though.

I found an option that goes into the Registry to shutoff the Auto-Restart after an error occurs. I'm going to try it and see if I can get the ERROR CODE of the BSoD.

Work constrains have me tied up, so I'm working on it whenever I can.

I will post the Registry trick when I get home from work in the AM.


Thanks
Katmandu is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 04:47 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Thumbs up Re: Help! XP will NOT boot up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katmandu View Post
I found an option that goes into the Registry to shutoff the Auto-Restart after an error occurs. I'm going to try it and see if I can get the ERROR CODE of the BSoD.
I just remembered I have the instructions for that Registry trick here on my Email at work.

Here is is below. Got it off M$ Newgroup .... Now I just need the time to do it!...

================================================== =

> If you can boot to another XP installation on the computer then you
> can use Regedit on the working installation and load the System Hive
> of the broken installation and change the CrashControl AutoReboot registry value.
>
> 1. Run Regedit.exe from the running XP installation, and then go to
> the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE key and highlight it.
>
> 2. On the Registry menu, click Load Hive, and then open the System
> hive in the broken Windows XP installation location. By default this
> installation is located at %SystemRoot%\System32\Config\System. The
> file is "System" without an extension.
>
> 3. Enter an arbitrary name when you receive a prompt for a key name in
> the Load Hive window. This loads the original HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE hive
> as a subkey of the current key.
>
> 4. Change the value data in the AutoReboot value to 0 (zero), instead
> of 1, in the following key:
>
> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Cr ashControl
>
> *** See ControlSetNNN note below ***
>
> 5. Collapse the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE subkey and unload the hive.
>
> This disables the Automatically Reboot option in the original Windows
> installation. After you follow these steps, you may be able to gather
> information from the STOP error message and resolve the problem that
> prevents the computer from starting.
>
> Look here for easy to follow example:
> xp-live and regedit
>
> *** You will notice that on a dormant XP system the registry has no
> CurrentControlSet key, it only has ControlSetnnn keys (ControlSet001,
> ControlSet002...) The CurrentControlSet key is created from one of the
> numbered keys when the computer reboots. To determine which Control
> Set will load when computer boots look at the
> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Select key. The numbers there indicate
> which Control Set will be loaded depending on which boot option is chosen.
> Edit the AutoReboot value in the appropriate Control Set.
>
> John

================================================== =
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Please! PC won't boot up after BIOS upgrade! Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 09-29-2007 06:49 PM
Dual Boot XP and Vista jasonhtml Microsoft Windows and Software 24 04-05-2007 01:17 AM
Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD Raj1991 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-03-2007 11:59 AM
disk check on boot up pigmaster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-02-2007 12:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.