Help XP home Wont boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2005, 11:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default Help XP home Wont boot

hopefully someone knows how to fix this, i've been all over the net and have yet to find a soloution. this is a new dell machine, about a month old. It has XP with sp2. no hardware or software changes have happened but it's decided not to boot up. Its get to the windows screen and freezes to a black screen never making it to the desktop. when i try and restart it gives a message that says something along the lines of "we're sorry for the inconvenience windows did not start up correctly....." and then i have choices for safe mode or last known configuration that worked etc... well, no luck with any of those, wont boot into safe mode nothing. so i figured i would boot from cd. i changed the bios to boot from cd. same problem it gets to windows screen locks up. then i made a boot disk on floppy and that didnt work either. im stumped on this, any help would be appreciated.
__________________

legg is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's a dell, it's under warranty. Return it, dell break easily and are hard to fix.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

that's what i was thinking but since im in school right now working on getting my A+ certification i figured i should try and fix it myself.
legg is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

DJ-CHRIS is right; there's no point in taking it apart, because you may well void your warranty in the process, and they are a pain in the butt to take apart. Just send it back to Dell and let them screw with it.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

dell is sorta wierd too...like tell em your volume doesnt work, and the send u a new motherboard.:/
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.