Help with windowws login - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2007, 10:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 18
Default Help with windowws login

I don't know if something is set wrong in my system or what? It used to be when I turned my computer on it would go directly to the login screen. Now when I turn it on a black screen comes up and says.


Please select the system to start

Microsoft windows XP
Microsoft windows XP Setup

Use the up and down arrow keys to move the highlight to your choice. Press enter to choose


For troubleshooting and advanced startup options for windows, press F8



I have to hit my up arrow key once to select Microsoft windows XP and hit enter and then windows starts up and goes to the login screen.

I would like to get everything reset back the way it originally was so when I turn my computer on windows will automatically start and go to the login screen but i dont know how.

Does anyone know how to reset this?
__________________

computer_man is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 01:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

You have to edit the boot.ini.
START>CONTROL PANEL>SYSTEM/[ADVANCE TAB]/"STARTUP AND RECOVERY" - SETTINGS. PRESS EDIT.

The boot.ini should open in notepad and should look soemthing like this but with the "Microsoft windows XP Setup" as well.

==============================================
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
==============================================

STOP HERE AND WAIT FOR MORE REPLIES: I have forgotten exactly how to edit it exactly and will need someone else to step in here. I wouldnt recommend editing unless you know exactly how to do it.

WARNING! - AGAIN WAIT FOR SOMEONE ELSE TO REPLY FOR FURTHER HELP.
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 10:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

BUMP.

Are you able to copy/paste your boot.ini here?
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 10:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

go to start > run, then type msconfig, select the boot.ini tab, click "check all boot paths" this will remove the windows setup option.
ECTech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.