HELP! Windows 98SE Screen Setting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2006, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Unhappy HELP! Windows 98SE Screen Setting

I did something wrong & the gray margin at the bottom of my screen with "Start" abruptly doubled in height to 1", using up space. It also indicates the page i'm on & i don't want that either. How do i get back down? (Please explain in non-technical language). Thanks!
__________________

Replikant is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Just hold the right mouse button on the upper edge and scale it back down...

I think your talking about the task bar right?
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 09:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default

Yes, i believe it's the task bar. However i followed your instruction & nothing happened - maybe i did it wrong?
__________________
Where have you been all your life?
Replikant is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 09:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default

No help? I have Mozilla Firefox if that makes any difference.
__________________
Where have you been all your life?
Replikant is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 10:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Right click the taskbar > Toolbars > Make sure "Address" is not checked off.

Also, make sure "Lock the taskbar" is not checked off. Then try scaling it down like law said.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 11:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default

OK, Address is not checked off, but i don't see any Lock the Taskbar.....
Replikant is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 11:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Put your mouse pointer on the top edge of the task bar and you'll see an up and down arrow, then just hold your right mouse button and drag it down to the size you want.
Law is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 11:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Maybe you have some sort of spyware that docks to your taskbar? I don't get the URL address bar being part of your taskbar. Iunno, get someone who knows what they're doing to look at it, seems pretty simple, from what you're explaining.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 11:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 73
Default

I got it, thank you! (The url was not part of the taskbar, just the name of the page, such as "Computer Techno...")
__________________

__________________
Where have you been all your life?
Replikant is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.